Archive for May 27, 2008

Ten years ago today…

Today was my 10th wedding anniversary.  Eric and I had a nice day together.  We actually both had the day off work, which hasn’t happened in ages (seriously, like a year, not counting holidays).  We ran some errands, picked up the rest of the things we needed for Christian’s birthday party (having his party with school friends on 6/8 but his bday is 7/19) and then we went to lunch.  We decided to go to Applebee’s because they have these Weight Watchers meals on their menu, low cal and low fat with points values.  When we got there I decided I really wanted some chicken tenders so I ended up having their chicken tender basket.  I ate two tenders and some fries.  It was so good. That was the first time we went out to eat other than pizza a couple of times and fast food a few times.  My fast food meals consist of a chicken breast or a burger patty.  If we eat pizza, I eat one or two slices.  I refuse to feel guilty over my splurge.  I want to be a normal person, not someone who frets over every bite they put in their mouth (though I can be like that).  I was glad I didn’t get the WW meal I was considering because I read an article tonight about diet meals at restaurants that aren’t as healthy as they claim to be.  If I’m going to eat badly, I’d rather enjoy it than have to force myself to eat it.

I really can’t believe I’ve been married for TEN years.  Geez I feel old.  Eric and I haven’t had the smoothest road, some due to our own choices and some due to bad luck.  We had a really nice day today, which reminded us of why we’ve worked to stay together all this time.  A lot of people (like, Eric’s entire family and all of his friends) were against us getting married.  I like to think we’ve proved them wrong.  They thought we were too young, that he wouldn’t finish school, etc, etc.  One family member in particular said, “Eric, you’ll date 100 girls before you settle down.”  Yeah, that’s something to strive for.  Eric has been my rock for the last 3 months and I couldn’t have gotten through this without him.  I’m so lucky to have him.  😀

May 27, 2008 at 11:16 pm 1 comment


Stats

Surgery date: 2.28.08
Highest weight: 350 lbs
Surgery weight: 339 lbs
Current weight: 262 lbs
Goal weight: 175 lbs
May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages